Myers- Briggs personality test

While I was whiling away the hours in bed with gastroenteritis last week I came across a reference to the Myers-Briggs personality test in my psychologies magazine and thought I would give it a try.

“The Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) assessment is a psychometric questionnaire designed to measure psychological preferences in how people perceive the world and make decisions.These preferences were extrapolated by Katharine Cook Briggs and Isabel Briggs Myers from the typological theories proposed by Carl Gustav Jung, and first published in his 1921 book Psychological Types. Jung theorized that there are four principal psychological functions by which we experience the world: sensation, intuition, feeling, and thinking. One of these four functions is dominant most of the time.”– Thanks wikipedia!

I took a free version of the test HERE and also got Robin to do it at a later date out of interest.

The results stated that I am a INFJ (Introverted, Intuitive, feeling, judging) personality type- the counsellor

and Robin is a ESFP (Extroverted, sensing, feeling, perceiving)  personality type- the performer!

It’s a fun thing to do as a couple to see how similar or different you are! I think that the descriptions of both our personalities are quite accurate:

ESFPs (ROB) are vivacious entertainers who charm and engage those around them. They are spontaneous, energetic, and fun-loving, and take pleasure in the things around them: food, clothes, nature, animals, and especially people. ESFPs are typically warm and talkative and have a contagious enthusiasm for life. They like to be in the middle of the action and the center of attention. They have a playful, open sense of humor, and like to draw out other people and help them have a good time.

This is quite true of Rob- he loves nothing better than making people laugh and entertaining. For a few years he kept telling jokes at interviews which wasn’t really the purpose of the activity! He has what we call “laughy eyes” where he starts inwardly laughing at his own jokes until his eyes tear up at his own hilarity. Sigh. He doesn’t like to plan (He didn’t write a wedding speech and much to my horror ad-libbed on the day! it didn’t go too badly considering…)  is always rolling around on the floor with Joe, or bursting into song  and dance and in the car he never shuts up with his own ‘entertaining’ monologues! I was mortified at antenatal classes when he would make wise quips and crack jokes left right and centre in group discussions- I know he was aching to take the floor really although he never would. He takes immense pleasure in “nice” things- loves gourmet food, or just massive portions of good food, he loves animals (every time I ask what he wants to do on his birthday he asks to go to the zoo. He’s 28.) and although he hasn’t got a large social group he loves being around other people. Life is one big joke and party to Rob and he likes to make sure everyone is happy and laughing.

INFJs (Me) are creative nurturers with a strong sense of personal integrity and a drive to help others realize their potential. Creative and dedicated, they have a talent for helping others with original solutions to their personal challenges.The Counselor has a unique ability to intuit others’ emotions and motivations, and will often know how someone else is feeling before that person knows it himself. They trust their insights about others and have strong faith in their ability to read people. Although they are sensitive, they are also reserved; the INFJ is a private sort, and is selective about sharing intimate thoughts and feelings.

I think that is true of me. I do have a strong drive to help others, when I was little I wanted to be a nurse but unfortunately I hate needles and blood and hospitals in general! I have also always wanted to be a stay at home mom or a counsellor or a life coach- and I suppose all those things are careers that take a nurturing role. I have always been interested in psychology and the way people tick and I am very sensitive to other peoples emotions often vicariously feeling what they feel. A lot of people would say I am shy and reserved, which I am until I get to know someone and feel comfortable. When I am close to someone I become a lot more open but there are perhaps only three people in the world I can be truly and completely open and myself with- and even with them it’s sometimes hard to let out my inner emotions and feelings. I find it much easier to write things down as a way of expressing myself than I do talking out loud- often when I speak I don’t feel I can explain the depth of what I am feeling or trying to say, but when writing it comes more easily.

Why don’t you take the test and find out a bit more about your personality type? Let me know how you get on!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Myers- Briggs personality test

    • Rach says:

      I feel like I’m part of a special club being an infj! Test seems really accurate to me, but did test with my mom and the result didn’t sound much like her at all!? Weird maybe we mis understood some of the questions?!

Leave a Reply

