Interesting things Wednesday

Girl With Curves

I am always pinning images from the Girl with curves blog. She always looks great and gives women of all shapes and sizes the confidence and style inspiration that they deserve.

Embrace your imperfections

I love this image as it reminds me to be accepting of who I am and to not be a perfectionist. This in turn will help me to embrace the imperfections of others.
72d997390fd2d1054a04cf724dd9ba99

I love this pop up! Unfortunately I just saw it on pinterest and can’t find where it’s originally from but its wonderful what you can do with some coloured paper and some imagination! I think its an advert for air freshener- if so, what a good idea!

delicious recipe puff pastry

Ham and brie stuffed parcel

tart puff pastry

Baked brie and wild mushroom tart

I’m having a little obsession with puff pastry recipes this week. I don’t know if its because the weather is getting cooler, or because of the crunch of leaves under foot but I just get the feeling that comfy cosy winter grub season is just around the corner and I for one cant wait! Both of these recipes are from delicious magazine and can be found here and here.

These pictures by Andreas Preis really caught my eye. I love the bold and simple designs- they are very striking- I have always been drawn to strong black outlines and graphic edges to illustrations. The pictures above are from a project called Animals of Berlin. You can see more of Andreas’s work here.

We have started going to the library as a family again and me and Rob have even been allocating time in the evening where we switch off the tv/lap-top/x.box/mobiles and just sit next to each other and read. I am currently reading “Sane New World” by Ruby Wax which is part biography, part instruction manual about depression, neuroscience, the brain, the mind and mindfulness meditation. It’s the third time I have read this book and I really love it. I wanted to refresh my memory of it because I have been doing mindfulness meditation for 17 days in a row (10 minute and 15 minute sessions once a day, not just continual meditation for days on end!)  and this book is all about the science behind why it works.

Ruby Wax – comedian, writer and mental health campaigner – shows us how our minds can jeopardize our sanity.

With her own periods of depression and now a Masters from Oxford in Mindfulness-based Cognitive Therapy to draw from, she explains how our busy, chattering, self-critical thoughts drive us to anxiety and stress.

If we are to break the cycle, we need to understand how our brains work, rewire our thinking and find calm in a frenetic world.

Helping you become the master, not the slave, of your mind, here is the manual to saner living. “

Hope you are all having an interesting week so far!

Leave a Reply

