I lived: One republic raising awareness for Cystic Fibrosis

I was just reading the From A to Pink blog which you can see here which is written by a lady called Katherine who was diagnosed with a “mild” form of cystic Fibrosis at the age of 16, when I came across this video which she encouraged her readers to watch:

I personally have not heard of one republic and its not the type of music I would normally listen to but I was really impressed by their choice to raise awareness of the condition through their touching video.  The video is a tribute to one teenage fan, Bryan Warnecke, and his struggles living with cystic fibrosis.

In the video Warnecke is shown making the most of his life doing what he loves best, sports such as bicycling, skateboarding and playing hockey. These images are intertwines with footage of his childhood, as he explains what it’s like living with the hereditary disease.

“It feels like I’m breathing through a straw,” says Warnecke,  “Whenever I try to breath hard it hurts. I want to make the most out of my life and have as much fun as I possibly can and my biggest fear is not being able to do that.” 

Here are the lyrics to the song. They have a new meaning when you think of them in line with someone living with this illness- but they should also apply to everyone whether ill or not-

“I Lived”

Hope when you take that jump
You don’t fear the fall
Hope when the water rises
You build a wall

Hope when the crowd screams out
They’re screaming your name
Hope if everybody runs
You choose to stay

Hope that you fall in love
And it hurts so bad
The only way you can know
Is give it all you have

And I hope that you don’t suffer
But take the pain
Hope when the moment comes
You’ll say…

[Chorus]
I, I did it all
I, I did it all
I owned every second
That this world could give
I saw so many places
The things that I did
Yeah, with every broken bone
I swear I lived

Hope that you spend your days
But they all add up
And when that sun goes down
Hope you raise your cup

I wish that I could witness
All your joy and all your pain
But until my moment comes
I’ll say…

I, I did it all
I, I did it all
I owned every second
That this world could give
I saw so many places
The things that I did
Yeah, with every broken bone
I swear I lived

Warnecke has raised over $300,000 for the CFF.org charity cycling over 1200 miles. You can visit the Cystic fibrosis foundation here.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

