Christmas Decorations!

Hi everyone and happy First of December! Christmas has come to the Crawshaw family household, come and take a peek at our festive decorations!

Our Christmas Tree

Our Christmas Tree

We have a 7 foot fake tree in our lounge (Real fir trees can cause complications for people with CF due to mould spores) in the bay window, decorated with a real mix of old and new, vintage decorations displayed next to the hand made and supermarket finds. We haven’t gone for a colour theme this year, we have a mixture of reds, greens, silvers, golds and purples- most of the decorations are individual and have a little history behind them.

Knitted Santa

Knitted Santa

The santa above was knitted by my great Auntie and was always on my family tree as a child. When I moved out my mom gave us a selection of decorations from our childhood so that santa has been around for nearly 30 years! And the red glass bauble in the background is also vintage- it adorned my moms tree many years ago and still sparkles brightly on ours today.

More Santa decorations

More Santa decorations

This cheeky chap is metal and was a gift from Rob’s parents from there travels in Brugge. The bauble in the background is glass and belonged to my mom- another one from my childhood.

A new addition- beautiful peacock decoration from Rob's parents

A new addition- beautiful peacock decoration from Rob’s parents

This lovely big bauble is new this year- a thoughtful gift from Rob’s parents from a trip to Harrogate, a lovely addition with links to our wedding (we had a peacock themed wedding and ever since our home has always contained hints of peacock.)

Peacock feathers  are quite prominent in our house as we had a peacock themed wedding- this decoration was given to us by by mom

Peacock feathers are quite prominent in our house as we had a peacock themed wedding- this decoration was given to us by by mom

One of my favourites- a traditional glass santa from brugge

One of my favourites- a traditional glass santa from brugge

I love these traditional glass German decorations. The Ribbon round the tree comes from a pack of three from Lidl and the beaded strings were from Next a few years ago.

Glass angel

Glass angel

These glass angels were from Avon quite a few years ago now, and the red and white christmas tree was from a selection at Tesco’s last year.

A lovely sparkly tree to adorn our lovely sparkly tree!

A lovely sparkly tree to adorn our lovely sparkly tree!

Toad stools are one of my favourite things, and also look at the hand crocheted snowflake crafted by my mom

Toad stools are one of my favourite things, and also look at the hand crocheted snowflake crafted by my mom

My mom made a large selection of knitted and crocheted decorations last year which we sold to raise money for the CF trust. I was lucky enough to be given a few- they are very special to us and remind us of the generosity of others.

Little house that contained chocolates...notice the use of past tense...

Little house that contained chocolates…notice the use of past tense…

Details on the fire place

Details on the fire place

Above is the famous “snowman lamp” which Joe is obsessed with that we were given this year by Rob’s parents, we also received the hanging globe from my mom which flashes different colours. The santa opens up and plays a tune and tiny sleigh pulled by reindeers turns round and round to the music in his tummy. My Nan gave me this one year along with a ginger gingerbread house version and I think they are so magical!

the fire place

the fire place

The fire place is lined with gold tinsel (vintage too, probably 20 years old) gold beads, tiny gold bells and snowflake lights which I brought this year from homebase for £3.99. The snowman candle holder was a gift I had as a teenager from my auntie Heather and it’s one of my favourite Christmas items.

Decorations from my childhood now delight and entertain Joe

Decorations from my childhood now delight and entertain Joe wpid-imag3172_1.jpg

Choo-choo lamp

Joe loves the train christmas lights we brought this year from the holly bush garden centre in Cheslyn hay. Christmas was always so magical for me as a child, I loved it especially the decorations and I really love that Joe can experience and gain joy from some of the decorations that delighted me as a child. I have always loved the santa and tinsel mobile pictured above and even though its getting pretty tatty now I still put it up every year.

Joseph's tree

Joseph’s tree

We have put up a little tree for joe, which we did last year for his first christmas, with lots of his own decorations, and more special decorations that I remember from my childhood. It’s a bit more gaudy than our tree in the living room but I think its really fun and bright, i really love putting on the brightly coloured vintage baubles and old wooden decorations.

Gingerbread man

Gingerbread man

Hand knitted decoration complete with train button made by my mom

Hand knitted decoration complete with train button made by my mom

I hope you have enjoyed looking at some of our christmas decorations! Hope December is full of festive cheer for you all!

Leave a Reply

