Creativity, Family, Self

Happy 2015!

Happy New year to all our friends and family and to everyone who reads this blog! I hope 2015 is your happiest year to date and that you all have plenty of things to look forward to over the coming 12 months.

IMG_1977

The Christmas decorations are packed away, the Christmas cake has been eaten and the recycling bin is overflowing with plastic and cardboard boxes from all of Joe’s new toys and our new fangled doo dads. It’s sad at this time of year because all of the build up to Christmas is over but its also an exciting time too, not least because I got no less than 8 new notebooks for christmas (of the paper variety not computers!) and I can’t wait to start filling them all in with notes, lists, goals, and anything else that I can think of to write down.

One of the first things I have done is write a list of 12 things I’d like to do this year- not necessarily new years resolutions but just a little reminder to myself of the small and sometimes large goals I would like to attempt to achieve this year. To help me with this I printed off this lovely list to stick in one of my journals which is available as a free printable download from livelaughrowe.com

Free printable from livelaughrowe.com

Here are some of the things I’d like to do this year:

  1.  Continue to write my blog– I have really enjoyed writing my blog over the past few months, it’s been a great way for me to keep in touch with family and friends, it has helped me through some tough times with Joes cystic Fibrosis and made me feel part of a community and it has helped me to focus my creativity encouraging me not only to write but to photograph, research, bake, cook, draw, make and sew. So this year I would like to continue writing my blog- who knows where it may lead!
  2. Use my gratitude journal- For those of you who have been reading my gratitude Friday blog posts you will know that I have been trying to practice gratitude in order to improve my well being. This year I want to keep up with my gratitude journal, writing three things down every night before bed that I am grateful for. Look out for future posts on Gratitude.
  3. Try and tackle my disordered eating  This is not something that I have really discussed on my blog before- I could probably write a whole other blog about my issues with food, so I won’t go into great detail now, but this year I would like to try and find ways of keeping my disordered eating in control which kind of links to my next goal…
  4. Treat myself kindly  This year I would like to practice self acceptance and to encourage positive self talk- finding new ways to combat stress and to generally be less critical of myself and improve my self esteem.
  5. Take Joseph swimming Joseph having CF means that physical exercise is going to be very important to his quality of life in the future, so I want to start as early as possible in encouraging him to take part in exercise recreationally as well as for health purposes. Joe has been swimming a couple of times but while he was really little we avoided it mostly to keep him well, now he is a little bigger and stronger its something we can do together and will hopefully help him to get a taste for enjoying physical exercise.
  6. Read 10 books  This may not seem like a lot to some people- before I had Joe I could read 10 books a month if not more, but now I find I don’t quite have enough time! So I would like to attempt to read 10 books this year. I’ve started by beginning to read Sarah Waters latest novel “The paying Guests” that Rob brought me for Christmas.
  7. Make more art/crafts This doesn’t really need much explanation! I want to make sure I be creative this year whether it be drawing and painting, making cards, sewing, pom poms, baking…whatever!
  8. Do date nights regularly For Robin’s birthday I made him a set of cards, all with a different, free date night ideas written on for him to choose from every few weeks- I want to make sure we use them to get some quality time together and to remember we are a married couple not just parents!
  9. Make some gifts   I would like to try and make some home made gifts this year, I often see ideas on pinterest and in books that i’d like to try but never get round to it, so hopefully this year i will make some time to make some gifts!
  10. Write in my journals and notebooks I did have 8 note books for Christmas. What more excuse do I need?
  11. Use my printer I had a lovely new printer for Christmas from Robin so I want to make sure I use it! whether it be to help my journaling, to make cards, to use in crafts there’s so much potential!
  12. Use my sewing machine this links in with some of my other goals like making gifts and making more art and crafts- what’s the use of having a sewing machine if you don’t use it?

What things would you like to do this year?

Leave a Reply

