Cystic Fibrosis, Family

Recommended read! “A Song for Tomorrow” #cysticfibrosis #alicemartineau #alicepeterson

I have gotten back into reading fiction books recently. I’ve dipped in and out of fiction books for the past few years, but have mainly been engrossed in non fiction. Somehow this month I’m now on my fourth fiction book, this may not seem a lot to some of you, I know before I had Joe I could read four books a week let alone a month, but this is a huge amount of reading for me since having a child. This increase in reading may have something to do with starting a morning routine, and getting up at 6am everyday (I’m bound to write a post about that at some point) so I’ve been able to dedicate more time to reading, but it’s also due to the books themselves.

a-song-for-tomorrow-alice-peterson

My book recommendation this week is “A song for tomorrow” by Alice Peterson.

This book is a must read. “A song for tomorrow” is a fiction novel but it is based on the true, inspirational life of the singer and song writer Alice Martineau.

7bfa9be974715d27eb7733fdf73b880d

Alice has a dream, to become a singer and be signed for a record deal. This in and of itself would be a mammoth and difficult task but Alice also does not have the luxury of time on her side. She is 26, living with Cystic Fibrosis and has been given an estimate of two years to live if she does not get a lung, heart and liver transplant.

This book is heart warming, yet devastating and will have you reaching for the tissues. I loved this book because it explains so well the life of someone living with Cystic Fibrosis. Not only does it explain how CF becomes such a big part of CF patients lives, and the lives of sufferers families it also shows how people with CF are much more than just this illness.

It does not shy away from difficult subjects like the toll CF has on relationships, the reality of life on a transplant waiting list and facing up to your own mortality.

But it also fills you with inspiration, encourages you to make the most of everyday and makes you question whether you are living your life to the full potential. Every person has hurdles and set backs in their life, but this book and the life of Alice Martineau encourages you to stop making excuses and start living your life while you have the chance.

alice-peterson-230x230
Author Alice Peterson

The author Alice Peterson really impressed me by contacting me when I posted a picture and short review of the book on my Instagram account. She seems to be really invested in the story and passionate about raising awareness of Cystic Fibrosis.

This book is a great read wether you have any connection to CF or not. It is about love, triumph over adversity, music, passion and family.

Please give it a go! Buy it in print, rent it from your library like I did or purchase the E book version it’s currently 99p on Amazon!

You can read Alice Martineau’s families opinion of the book here.

2 thoughts on “Recommended read! “A Song for Tomorrow” #cysticfibrosis #alicemartineau #alicepeterson”

  1. WOW, I will have to read this! Thanks for the recommendation. What an honor, that she reached out to you. Blessings!

    1. Thanks Amber, yes I was very surprised when she contacted me, it’s not something that’s ever happened before thought that was a really admirable thing for her to do, to engage with her readers. Let me know what you think of the book if you read it! X

Leave a Reply

