Self

#Reading challenge books 9-10

Here is an update on my reading challenge! I am a bit behind schedule what with settling Joe into starting school, but now I need to get back on track to make sure I’ve read 26 books by the 31st of December!

Book 9 was “The North Water” by Ian Mcguire.

9781471151262

The story is set upon a doomed whaling ship called the Volunteer, set for The North Water. The biting cold, treacherous seas and hazardous work are not the only things that crew members abroad the Volunteer need to be afraid of. Violent and unhinged Henry Drax lurks among them and sets off a chain of events that will change there lives forever. This book is raw, violent and cruel, it reflects the stark nature of the surrounding landscape perfectly. If I were to use one word to describe this novel it would be “Bleak.”

I enjoyed reading this book as I am a lover of dark and unhinged characters, but sometimes the brutality held within was even too much for me to bear. Well written and excellently researched this book will question your morals and ultimately make you glad you are not a whaler in the 1850’s! Or a whale for that matter!

I give “The North Water” 4/5!

Number 10 on my reading challenge  was “They Shoot Horses Don’t they?” by Horace McCoy.

9781846687396

This book was unlike anything I’ve read before. The main characters Robert and Gloria are wannabe actors who decide to partake in “dance marathons” held in an amusement pier above the Pacific Ocean. The ruthless dance competitions provide food and shelter as long as participants can “keep moving”. The dancing couples hope that these dance marathon shows will tempt Hollywood executives to give participants a “big break” in the movie world, but more often than not it is the tortured souls of these young couples grappling for fame that get broken.

Highlighting the seedy underworld of fame and entertainment in the depression Era this novel is short, stark and unsettling.

Not my typical kind of read, not necessarily enjoyable but I found it very interesting, so I’m going to give it 3/5.

Next I am reading “We are Pirates” by Daniel Handler (AKA Lemony Snicket!)

22812808

Until next time! Happy Reading everyone!

P.s you can see all the other posts from the reading challenge HERE.

Leave a Reply

